Match Preview – 9th Match: Salt Pond Breakers vs Fort Charlotte Strikers

May 18, 2021

Fort Charlotte Strikers can’t afford to have another loss so early in the tournament, so this is a crucial game for them. A win will do them the world of good. For the Breakers, it’s a match to put them level on the points table with their greatest rivals.


In The Spotlight

Salt Pond Breakers have the winning mentality, which they’ve on countless occasions won games where they were behind. They’re coached by Olanzo Jackson, a fierce and tough competitor who knows how to win. He’ll no doubt have had a big part to play in the way the Breakers men carry themselves. Look out for the duel between Ray Jordan and Sunil Ambris. Ambris has shown the tendency to impose himself on the faster bowlers in the tournament more than any other batsman.

Fort Charlotte Strikers had another horrible outing with the bat in their most recent match. They started too slow and was behind – the top 5 overs of the innings is what usually kills them from the contest. They’ll have to right that wrong to challenge a powerhouse such as the Breakers.


Players To Watch

Seon Sween (Salt Pond Breakers) – Sween has been in destructive mode this edition. The last time these two teams met, he was on a six hitting mission and brought Breakers out of a losing position.

Miles Bascombe (Strikers) – With the calibre of Bascombe, and the shots he was playing yesterday, you can see that something special is around the corner.


Form Guide

Salt Pond Breakers: W W L
Fort Charlotte Strikers: L W L



The weather is set to be partly cloudy to sunny for most of the day, with very little chance of rain playing any part in the match.


Pitch Conditions

The surface for this game will be a new surface. Extra preparation has gone into it and it should be good in general for Cricket.


Probable XI

Salt Pond Breakers: Sunil Ambris, Rickford Walker, Sheldon Hooper, Denson Hoyte, Andrew Thomas, Jeremy Haywood, Jeremy Layne, Kensley Joseph, Seon Sween, Tijourn Pope, Jevon Samuel

Fort Charlotte Strikers: Miles Bascombe, Leshawn Lewis/Kevin Peters, Gidron Pope, Kirton Lavia, Sealroy Williams, Cosmus Hackshaw, Chelson Stowe, Ray Jordan, Rasheed Fredericks, Geron Wyllie/Nigel Small, Shaquille Browne